A day in Kiev

Greetings from Kiev, everyone!

I’d like to guide you through a typical day in my life here.
I usually wake up, either really early or really late. I wander around the flat zombie style, until I find enough clothes to be presentable on the street. And then I generally go in search of coffee. Everything is so unpredictable here that when someone says, hey let’s hang out tomorrow! I assume that means around 4 pm or so. So in the mornings or early afternoon, I end up at McFoxy (basically McDonald’s, but with a better view).

Here I’ve found I can access Wi-Fi from my phone while being serenaded by Gotye, Adele, Pink, and Nikki Minaj. Kill me now. Just kidding. But at least I do get to eavesdrop on many Russian conversations.
Most of my friends work during the day, so I either hang out here or go exploring. Somedays I feel adventurous and somedays I miss Wi-Fi.
I am also addicted to Georgian food. There is a Georgian bakery practically on every street corner. It’s usually baked bread filled with meat or cheese, but my favorite was stuffed with mushrooms. I’m a big sucker for hachapuri and sloikas right now. I shocked one of friends by saying we don’t have food like this in America. “Don’t people like Georgian food in America?” “Honey, in America, people think Georgian food is fried chicken and Southern homestyle cooking. They think of the state, not the country.” Apparently, my craze made more sense then.
I guess I’m starting to blend in because in the last few days people have started to stop me for directions, or make off-hand comments to me on the bus. The first time it happened, I understood the question, and it startled me so badly I couldn’t reply and just pointed like an idiot in the direction they needed. Which happened to be the wrong way, as it turns out.
It can be hard to connect with people here. Matching schedules with my friends is a lot like herding cats… My evenings depend on what everyone else is doing, because I don’t work (obviously), and I’m pretty much always free.
I’ve been shopping, to ethnic cafes, had sushi, and more shopping. Most notably, my friend, Karina, took me to Babi Yar last week. I do have pictures, but I just have to figure out how to upload them.
I usually collapse into bed around 11 or 12 my time. I never realize how tired I am until I get home. All the walking wears me out.
So there you have it! A day in my life in Ukraine. Not very exciting, you might think. But let me tell you, every time I cross the street, I feel I’ve taken my life in my own hands. And every time I board a bus, I’m trusting that the driver is sane. Just leaving the flat is an adventure sometimes.
Thanks for reading! Hopefully more pictures to come soon!

6 responses to “A day in Kiev

  1. Sounds like an adventure to me! The church is beautiful! I remember my favorite stop in Washington, DC was the National Cathedral–I could’ve stayed all day! Love you!

  2. Sounds like a magical place and experience, with plenty of unknown gifts waiting to be opened. I would enjoy seeing more pictures. Also, too much coffee is bad for you! Don’t get addicted ~ and enjoy the wonderful Georgian food. 🙂 Well wishes.

  3. Pingback: Just Peachy | The Eye of the Tornado

Leave a Reply

